Commonwealth Shared Scholarship

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship 2023/24 Requirements, Application & Deadline

Posted by

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship 2023/2024 academic year is now open for applications! The Scholarship is funded by the UK government and is designed to support students from low and middle-income Commonwealth countries who are unable to afford to study in the United Kingdom.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship

The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission offers three Master’s programs, one of which is the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship.

The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) in the United Kingdom (UK) administers the UK government scholarship program guided by

international development goals. The CSC’s work combines sustainable development with UK national interest and provides international partnerships and collaboration opportunities.

Read Also:

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Eligibility

Candidates must meet the following requirements to apply for commonwealth scholarships:

  • Be a citizen of an eligible Commonwealth country or have been granted refugee status by that country, or be a British Protected Person.
  • Be a permanent resident of a Commonwealth country.
  • be ready to begin academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September 2023
  • Hold a first degree with at least upper second-class (2:1) honours or a lower second-class (2:2) degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree) by September 2023.
  • Not having studied or worked in a high-income country for one (academic) year or more. With this Scholarship, you can attend a UK university.

Note: Shared Scholarships are for full-time study only and no other course of study may be undertaken at the same time.

READ ALSO:  List of Scholarships in Australia for International Students 2023/24

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Eligible countries

Please remember that only candidates from the countries listed below are eligible to apply for Commonwealth Shared Scholarships in 2023/24.

  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nigeria
  • Dominica
  • Eswatini
  • Fiji
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia
  • Bangladesh
  • Gabon
  • Belize
  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • India
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Helena
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Sierra Leone

If you are a citizen of one of the above countries and meet the eligibility criteria, we encourage you to apply for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship 2023/24.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Application form

In the application form, candidates will be asked to:

  • list all undergraduate and postgraduate university qualifications obtained 
  • List up to ten publications and awards.
  • Provide information about their work history and explain how each job relates to the program to be completed in the UK.
  • Provide a statement about how their previous work experience relates to the proposed Scholarship.
  • List the names and positions of three referees who are qualified to comment on the candidate’s ability to benefit from the proposed Scholarship in the UK as well as their ability to deliver development impact following their stay. One of the referees must be a current employee (if applicable)
  • Provide a four-part development impact statement.

The first section should explain how the proposed Scholarship by the candidate relates to:

  1. Development issues at the global, national, and local levels
  2. Development issues connected to your chosen CSC development theme and the wider sector.
READ ALSO:  How To Apply For Coca-Cola Scholarship 2023

The second section should explain how the candidate intends to use their new skills and qualifications once they return home.

The third section should outline what the candidate expects to change in terms of development as a result of the Scholarship, including:

  1. The goals they want to achieve
  2. The timeframe for their implementation
  3. Who will be the beneficiaries?

The fourth section should explain how the candidate’s work can be measured most effectively. It ought to:

  1. Confirm the candidate’s award objectives and how the Scholarship program will meet each.
  2. Confirm the candidate’s goals for the next five years and how the Scholarship program will help them achieve them.
  3. Confirm the candidate’s long-term goals and how the Scholarship program will help them achieve them.
  4. Provide a personal statement summarizing how the candidate’s background has influenced their desire to make an impact in their home country. Candidates should highlight areas where they have made a difference, such as overcoming personal or community barriers in their chosen career.
  5. Summarize the candidate’s involvement in volunteer activities and the opportunities they have had to demonstrate leadership.


The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship offers scholarships for students from developing Commonwealth countries who wish to study in the UK. The

Scholarship is funded by the UK government and the participating Commonwealth countries. Scholarships are awarded on a competitive basis, taking into account the applicant’s academic ability and financial need.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *