Governor Ob .uk

Oborevwori has approved a reduction in tuition by 25% for those accepted to universities in the Delta region

Posted by

The Governor of Delta State, Sheriff Oborevwori, has approved a decrease of 25% in acceptance fees payable at the four state-owned colleges.

On Wednesday in Asaba, the governor’s Chief Press Secretary, Festus Ahon, released a statement indicating his support.

According to the statement, the Delta State Government reduced the acceptance charge to help citizens cope with the loss of fuel subsidies.

Ahon added that incoming students at the four state-owned universities—Delta State University, Abraka; Delta State University of Science and Technology, Ozoro; University of Delta, Agbor; and Dennis Osadebay University, Anwai-Asaba—will receive a 25 percent discount on their acceptance fees.

As a sop to civil officials across the state, the governor approved the payment of N10,000 to workers for three months and the payment of N5.522bn to 50,196 personnel as promotion arrears.

In addition, the governor has approved a three-day rotational system for government employees in Salary Grades 1 through 14, while those in Salary Grades 15 and above are free to arrange their time off as they see fit within their respective Ministries of Defense. In addition, 22 of the State’s 25 Local Government Areas are actively recruiting a total of 2,000 teachers and other staff for primary schools.

The spokesman for the governor further said that N10 billion and more than 17,000 bags of rice and more than 64,000 bags of corn all in 50kgs had been set aside by the state government as palliatives for the less fortunate, the poor, people with disabilities, and the elderly.

He explained that the state was making these preparations to ease the financial burden on its residents caused by the elimination of fuel subsidies.

READ ALSO:  Delta truckers and passengers complain about the poor road conditions at the Effurun roundabout

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *